navigation Community

 

 

  Staff

 

 

Makela, Pollack & Ahonen, PLLC has 11 persons on staff, skilled in the areas of auditing, accounting, and taxes.


Our firm has two principals, Tony Pollack and Karl Ahonen, both are Certified Public Accountants and members of the American Institute of CPAs and the Michigan Association of CPAs. Karl is also a member of the Wisconsin Institute of CPAs.

Tony Pollack (tpollack@ironwoodcpa.com) started with our firm in 1979, after graduating from the University of Minnesota-Duluth and is a Certified Specialist in Estate Planning. He is a past president and a current board member of Rotary, a board member of the Ironwood Industrial Development Corporation, and a member of the Knights of Columbus.


Karl “Gus” Ahonen (kahonen@ironwoodcpa.com), a Northern Michigan University graduate, started with our firm in 1996 and became a principal of the firm in October 2009.


Our firm has two other Certified Public Accountants who are also members of the American Institute of CPAs and the Michigan Association of CPA's.


Tim Makela (tmakela@ironwoodcpa.com) has been with our firm since 1978and retired as an owner of the firm in 2018, is a graduate of Northern Michigan University. He is on the board of directors of the First National Bank of Wakefield. Mr. Makela will continue to work with and be an integral part of our firm in a professional capacity into the future.


Dean Beaudoin (dbeaudoin@ironwoodcpa.com), a Northern Michigan University graduate, started with our firm in 1981. He is an active member of the Superior Sky Divers group.


Staff accountants are Brittany Bennetts (bbennetts@ironwoodcpa.com), Tom Ahonen (tahonen@ironwoodcpa.com) and Leann Tregembo (ltregembo@ironwoodcpa.com). Brittany, a Michigan State University graduate, started as an intern during the summers of 2011 and 2012. She joined our full-time staff in January 2013. Tom is a graduate of Upper Iowa University and has worked with us during tax season for several years. He became a full-time employee in July 2016. He is also a quickbooks ProAdvisor. Leann is a graduate of Northern Michigan University and, after gaining experience in the private sector, started with us in February 2019.

Nicole Hellman (nhellman@ironwoodcpa.com) and Jill Supercynski (jsupercynski@ironwoodcpa.com) make up the computer training and bookkeeping departments. Nicole graduated from Gogebic Community College and began with the firm in September 2011. Nicole also assists with audits and tax return preparation. Jill has degrees from University of WI Oshkosh and Gogebic Community College and began with the firm in October 2020 after working in the banking and distribution fields. Jill also assists with tax preparation.


Megan Kolesar (mpa@ironwoodcpa.com) is our firm's office manager. Megan is a graduate of Northland College and started with us in November 2002. She is also a member and has held various offices of the Ironwood Area Business and Professional Women's Club.


Our firm’s Administrative Assistant is Maggie Maki (mmaki@ironwoodcpa.com). Maggie is a graduate of Gogebic Community College and began with our firm in February 2014.

Our firm also hires additional staff during tax season and offers internships at various times during the year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Home | History | Services | Community | External Peer Review Report | Staff | Related Links

 

Contact Ironwood CPA

301 N. Suffolk Street

Ironwood, MI  49938

Email mpa@ironwoodcpa.com

Phone: 906-932-4430

Fax: 906-932-0677